A record audience at the TTJ Awards on September 9 saw James Latham plc collect the top Timber Trader of the Year Award.

The event, hosted by French entrepreneur PY Gerbeau, this year attracted around 300 people from across the UK and overseas, including representatives of leading timber and wood products traders and manufacturers, their customers and representatives of timber industry and related industry associations.

James Latham took the Timber Trader of the Year Award, sponsored by UCM Timber plc, for amassing the biggest number of nominations across all the voting categories in the poll of TTJ readers and representatives of the industry’s key customer sectors.

The winner of the Hardwood Trader of the Year Award, sponsored by Canada Wood, was Timber Connection Ltd; MBM Forest Products Ltd won Softwood Trader of the Year, sponsored by ABP; Montague L Meyer took the Panels Trader of the Year Award, sponsored by Weyerhaeuser Products Ltd; Plywood Trader of the Year, sponsored by Primer Mould maker W Howard Ltd, was won by Caledonian Plywood; the General Trader of the Year Award, sponsored by Arch Timber Protection, went jointly to Jennor Timber Co and MBM Forest Products Ltd; and the Small Timber Business of the Year category, sponsored by Osmose, was won by Southgate Timber Co Ltd.

This year there were three TTJ Awards decided by independent judging panels.

The Excellence in Marketing Award, sponsored by Combilift Ltd, went to M&M Timber Co Ltd for its Playguard Campaign.

The Trainee of the Year Award, sponsored by SCA Timber Supply Ltd, attracted twice as many entries as in 2003 and the six shortlisted trainees were invited to the Awards ceremony at The Savoy in London. The winner was Jamie Snape from Jewson Ltd.

The inaugural Best Technical Information Support Award, sponsored by TRADA, was won by building systems and construction software specialist Eleco plc.

An additional Special Marketing Award was presented to The Wood Awards for its 2003/04 promotional and marketing campaign devised and managed by Turnstone Communications.

All the Awards trophies this year were commissioned by the American Hardwood Export Council and made by sculptor Ray Winder in American hard maple and black walnut generously supplied by C Blumsom Ltd.