The renewed APPG held its first AGM on July 12 at the House of Commons. Ian Paisley, MP for North Antrim, was re-elected as chairman and officers now include joint vice chairman Bill Grant MP for Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock (Conservatives), joint vice chairman Martin Whitfield MP for East Lothian (Labour) and joint vice chairman Andrew Bowie MP for West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine (Conservatives).

The Timber Industries APPG will help promote timber as the most sustainable and renewable building material and develop initiatives and economic measures to grow the whole UK timber industry supply chain, with the CTI acting as the group’s secretariat and providing relevant information and logistic support.

“We are pleased to see such widespread, cross-party support for our Industry,” said Roy Wakeman, chairman of the CTI.

“The timber sector represents a major engine for the growth and development of the UK economy and, with the help of the Timber Industries APPG, we can deliver this message straight to key decision makers in Westminster.”