Opinions Archive

Archive of industry opinions from the global ttj industry

Opinions By Date

November 2019

Top

Levelling the EUTR playing field a priority
26 November 2019 Only with uniform enforcement and due diligence support for importers can the EUTR keep illegal timber off the EU market, says Indra Van Gisbergen, forest and development campaigner at NGO, Fern

Tackling market and climate change
26 November 2019 The International Softwood Conference shone a spotlight not just on trade trends, but also the industry’s urgent need to rise to environmental challenges, says TTF president Charles Hopping

Get ready for voting!
26 November 2019 I don’t know if you are one of those people who look forward to a UK General Election.

October 2019

Top

Due Diligence: Not Always an Exact Science
23 October 2019 Due diligence is a continuous process, says Xiao Ma, sustainability manager at the Timber Trade Federation

Together we are stronger
23 October 2019 Getting Brexit wrong has far reaching consequences but by working together the building products sector can rise to meet the challenges, writes John Newcomb, CEO of the Builders Merchants Federation

Fire issue remains hot topic
22 October 2019 The issue of fire and timber has been in the news again recently.

September 2019

Top

An open channel for FLEGT feedback
17 September 2019 The IMM’s role is to monitor timber trade impacts of the EU FLEGT VPA initiative, and market responses to it, writes lead consultant Sarah Storck

Much accomplished, more to do
17 September 2019 Thomas Goebel, chief executive of German Timber Trade Federation GD Holz, was recently appointed the new secretary-general of the European Timber Trade Federation. His mission is to develop its role further as a voice to government, a communication platform and a plug into the global marketplace

It's Awards time
09 September 2019 It’s the end of another summer holiday period and at the time of writing the weather was thankfully on the way up, at least in the south-east of England.

August 2019

Top

Flying the flag for FLEGT
21 August 2019 Our future trading relationship with Europe may be uncertain, but the TTF has clear plans for its new Europe-wide FLEGT communications project, writes marketing consultant Lucy Kamall

The solution to Britain’s housing crisis
21 August 2019 David Hopkins, director Confederation of Timber Industries highlights the work of the APPG for the Timber Industries

Saving the planet
21 August 2019 When I was 16 I was sleeping in until midday, waiting for my GCSE results and wondering how I could get out of finding a holiday job – I certainly wasn’t contemplating sailing in an emission-free yacht across the Atlantic to attend a climate conference in the US.

July 2019

Top

Industry consolidation set to continue
29 July 2019 A flurry of takeovers has happened in recent weeks.

Bringing china on board the illegal trade battle
29 July 2019 An EU-Chinese forum holds huge promise for the global battle against illegal timber, writes TTJ consultant editor Mike Jeffree

The business perils of uncertainty
29 July 2019 The UK panels sector continues to grow and invest for the future, but like the rest of industry, above all else on Brexit, it wants clarity, writes Wood Panel Industries Federation director-general Alastair Kerr

June 2019

Top

You'll never work alone
17 June 2019 The excitement approaching a Champions League final involving two English teams was getting to fever pitch at the time of writing this column.

Don’t be an EU stranger
17 June 2019 Maybe we’ll leave the EU, deal or no deal, but it’s absolutely vital that we remain in the European loop, writes Keith Fryer

Forest sector craves certainty
17 June 2019 Expectations of another slide in sterling give UK timber a competitive advantage versus imports, while demand from pallet manufacturers is robust due to end users stockpiling, both due to Brexit uncertainty. But like other industries, the UK forest sector above all wants clarity on our future, in or out of the EU, writes Confor chief executive Stuart Goodall

May 2019

Top

A question of durability
15 May 2019 The BRE is embarking on a European programme to develop a performance life software tool to facilitate specification of timber in construction, writes Ed Suttie.

US Hardwood Heads for a Diverse Export Future
15 May 2019 The US-China trade war is causing a fundamental change in the American hardwood industry’s trading outlook and one outcome is renewed focus on the European market, writes American Hardwood Export Council executive director Mike Snow