Opinion

Stay up to date with the latest industry updates from the global timber industry

Latest Opinions

Much accomplished, more to do 17 September, 2019
Thomas Goebel, chief executive of German Timber Trade Federation GD Holz, was recently appointed the new secretary-general of the European Timber Trade Federation. His mission is to develop its role further as a voice to government, a communication platform and a plug into the global marketplace
> read more

By Region

Flying the flag for FLEGT
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 Our future trading relationship with Europe may be uncertain, but the TTF has clear plans for its new Europe-wide FLEGT communications project, writes marketing consultant Lucy Kamall
The solution to Britain’s housing crisis
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 David Hopkins, director Confederation of Timber Industries highlights the work of the APPG for the Timber Industries
Saving the planet
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 When I was 16 I was sleeping in until midday, waiting for my GCSE results and wondering how I could get out of finding a holiday job – I certainly wasn’t contemplating sailing in an emission-free yacht across the Atlantic to attend a climate conference in the US.
Industry consolidation set to continue
Monday, July 29, 2019 A flurry of takeovers has happened in recent weeks.
Bringing china on board the illegal trade battle
Monday, July 29, 2019 An EU-Chinese forum holds huge promise for the global battle against illegal timber, writes TTJ consultant editor Mike Jeffree
The business perils of uncertainty
Monday, July 29, 2019 The UK panels sector continues to grow and invest for the future, but like the rest of industry, above all else on Brexit, it wants clarity, writes Wood Panel Industries Federation director-general Alastair Kerr
You'll never work alone
Monday, June 17, 2019 The excitement approaching a Champions League final involving two English teams was getting to fever pitch at the time of writing this column.
Don’t be an EU stranger
Monday, June 17, 2019 Maybe we’ll leave the EU, deal or no deal, but it’s absolutely vital that we remain in the European loop, writes Keith Fryer
Forest sector craves certainty
Monday, June 17, 2019 Expectations of another slide in sterling give UK timber a competitive advantage versus imports, while demand from pallet manufacturers is robust due to end users stockpiling, both due to Brexit uncertainty. But like other industries, the UK forest sector above all wants clarity on our future, in or out of the EU, writes Confor chief executive Stuart Goodall
A question of durability
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 The BRE is embarking on a European programme to develop a performance life software tool to facilitate specification of timber in construction, writes Ed Suttie.

Opinions Archive