Opinion

Stay up to date with the latest industry updates from the global timber industry

Latest Opinions

Tackling market and climate change 26 November, 2019
The International Softwood Conference shone a spotlight not just on trade trends, but also the industry’s urgent need to rise to environmental challenges, says TTF president Charles Hopping
> read more

By Region

Get ready for voting!
Tuesday, November 26, 2019 I don’t know if you are one of those people who look forward to a UK General Election.
Due Diligence: Not Always an Exact Science
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 Due diligence is a continuous process, says Xiao Ma, sustainability manager at the Timber Trade Federation
Together we are stronger
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 Getting Brexit wrong has far reaching consequences but by working together the building products sector can rise to meet the challenges, writes John Newcomb, CEO of the Builders Merchants Federation
Fire issue remains hot topic
Tuesday, October 22, 2019 The issue of fire and timber has been in the news again recently.
An open channel for FLEGT feedback
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 The IMM’s role is to monitor timber trade impacts of the EU FLEGT VPA initiative, and market responses to it, writes lead consultant Sarah Storck
Much accomplished, more to do
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 Thomas Goebel, chief executive of German Timber Trade Federation GD Holz, was recently appointed the new secretary-general of the European Timber Trade Federation. His mission is to develop its role further as a voice to government, a communication platform and a plug into the global marketplace
It's Awards time
Monday, September 09, 2019 It’s the end of another summer holiday period and at the time of writing the weather was thankfully on the way up, at least in the south-east of England.
Flying the flag for FLEGT
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 Our future trading relationship with Europe may be uncertain, but the TTF has clear plans for its new Europe-wide FLEGT communications project, writes marketing consultant Lucy Kamall
The solution to Britain’s housing crisis
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 David Hopkins, director Confederation of Timber Industries highlights the work of the APPG for the Timber Industries
Saving the planet
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 When I was 16 I was sleeping in until midday, waiting for my GCSE results and wondering how I could get out of finding a holiday job – I certainly wasn’t contemplating sailing in an emission-free yacht across the Atlantic to attend a climate conference in the US.

Opinions Archive